mk=john

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,167 posts
  • Local Club: Milton Keynes Mini Club, Mini Cooper Register

Posted 16 October 2006 - 08:57 AM

Hello
My engine is a 998 cooper engine which has been rebuilt and done 1500 miles since rebuild.
Yesterday I noticed a patch of oil under my car about 4 inches diameter under the car (it seems to have come from the area where the flywheel housing bolts to the crank case).

On further inspection, the bottom of the joint is wet with oil. Could this be a gasket problem? Or, could the retaining nuts have worked loose, and need tightening?

My main question is this: If I had to remove the clutch and flywheel housing to fit a new gasket, is it possible to remove the bell housing, and fywheel housing with the engine still in place?

Please bear in mind that I have never done anything like this before, so how easy or difficult is it to do and what problems would I likely be faced with?

Thanks
John

#2 ANDY J

ANDY J

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 303 posts

Posted 16 October 2006 - 09:12 AM

Hello
My engine is a 998 cooper engine which has been rebuilt and done 1500 miles since rebuild.
Yesterday I noticed a patch of oil under my car about 4 inches diameter under the car (it seems to have come from the area where the flywheel housing bolts to the crank case).

On further inspection, the bottom of the joint is wet with oil. Could this be a gasket problem? Or, could the retaining nuts have worked loose, and need tightening?

My main question is this: If I had to remove the clutch and flywheel housing to fit a new gasket, is it possible to remove the bell housing, and fywheel housing with the engine still in place?

Please bear in mind that I have never done anything like this before, so how easy or difficult is it to do and what problems would I likely be faced with?

Thanks
John

hi mate 1st are you sure its coming from the gasket and not the crank oil seal behind the clutch