Passed Test

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 21 July 2021 - 10:15 PM

Hi all, something I noticed today, wondering if you have any thoughts:

- cold start was fine fired straight up

- drove about 4 miles filled up and all was good

- drove for another 20 mins engine up to temp. Was a bit hesitant to start, one or two more cranks than when I set off

- got back home left the car outside for 40mins try to start it up and hesitant to start again.

I’m very new to Mini ownership and just want to get a few thoughts on this, the car starts up but seemed a bit more hesitant than when it was cold. Any ideas what this could be or things I need to check. As far as I know all the spark plugs are relatively new, HT leads seem ok, pump is priming, immobiliser is fine, haven’t been able to test the battery but the starter seems to be turning fine. Not really sure why it would be doing this only when warm.

thanks in advance!

#2 Alice Dooper

Alice Dooper

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Local Club: Minis in Northern Ireland

Posted 22 July 2021 - 10:32 PM

Hi, I’d the same problem but only after the car got really warm.  The car is an MPI Cooper S.  Anyway, after a real thorough head scratch, I worked out that the fuel was evaporating off enough in the throttle body / manifold to make a warm start a bit more awkward.  She would start, just grumbled enough to have me worried a few times.  All was good when we would get going again