#1 Surfbluegarage

Surfbluegarage

AKA mini_mad_daps

• Traders
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,547 posts
  • Local Club: Notts About Minis

Posted 12 June 2007 - 04:45 PM

please help me i purchased a kent 266 cam today for my 1275 im new to the world of cams but basically my understandin was that the bigger the lobes the longer the valves open and so on i.e better perfromance. But why does my original metro cam seem to have bigger lobes by about 2 mil. please help im confusled..

#2 Purple Tom

Purple Tom

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,921 posts
  • Local Club: TMF

Posted 12 June 2007 - 05:20 PM

The height of the lobes only determines the distance the valves open. Its the shape of the lobe thats important, the overlap between inlet and exhaust, the duration etc. Its this that determines the profile.

Are you measuring the cam using anything precise? Or just a tape measure or similar?

I've heard tell that the Kent profile's aren't the best as the original base is quite old now, but I wouldn't worry. I had a 266 in an otherwise standard Metro 1275 and it was great.

#3 Surfbluegarage

Surfbluegarage

AKA mini_mad_daps

• Traders
  • 1,547 posts

Posted 12 June 2007 - 05:50 PM

yer we measured it with a digital vernier gauge and the lobes on the kent are more pointy and are smaller than the lobes on the metro cam i thought it was the bigger or more domed the lobes are the better the performance i.e more fuel and what not..

#4 dklawson

dklawson

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,923 posts
  • Name: Doug
  • Local Club: none

Posted 12 June 2007 - 06:32 PM

A lot of cams are made from "re-ground" stock cams so by definition they're going to be "smaller" than a stock cam.