20 replies to this topic

#1 Mini_Magic

Mini_Magic

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,747 posts

Posted 03 March 2008 - 01:47 PM

For some reason I got it into my head that I was a expert body sprayer and decided to rub down a little section on the A panel and respray it with rattle cans. It looked like rust bubbles but actually turned out to be filler bubbles, not quite sure how that happened. Unfortunally I ended up spraying a much larger area that I had originally intended, including some of the door where I managed to scratch it with the sand paper. The colour looks fine normally but terrible in the light, do I rub it down to the decent paint underneith or do I try again at getting a decent finish? Should I rub it down with t-cut or wet and dry paper?

#2 Bungle

Bungle

Original Spamster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,971 posts
  • Local Club: cornish mini club

Posted 03 March 2008 - 02:09 PM

wet and dry 1200 and t cut might help but let the paint go hard for 1-2 weeks first before you try

#3 Mini_Magic

Mini_Magic

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • 5,747 posts

Posted 03 March 2008 - 03:41 PM

So what would happen if I did wet and dry it now?

#4 wwinstanley

wwinstanley

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 341 posts
  • Local Club: not yet

Posted 03 March 2008 - 04:00 PM

terrible things

#5 Minigirl

Minigirl

With Steve

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,109 posts

Posted 03 March 2008 - 04:01 PM

you would probably just make a hell of a mess

as said above leave it for a while then try doing it

i've made the same mistake many times and also made the mistake of sanding back straight away and trust me it doesnt work!

#6 Mini_Magic

Mini_Magic

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • 5,747 posts

Posted 03 March 2008 - 04:31 PM

I'll leave it a while then, I'll just have to stand in front of the panel all night at the Ace Cafe.

#7 MarkGTT

MarkGTT

Super Mini Mad