33 replies to this topic

#1 buck

buck

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts

Posted 25 November 2011 - 11:36 PM

Just got off a call with Adrian flux, trying to renew my insurance, I used to be a recruitment consultant and when going through the details I told him that I had now changed jobs and am now a self employed director.
Apparently now I am a "high risk" category and they are refusing to insure me!

I am 22 years old and have been working for 7 years of my life.
Every other insurance company wants 4K plus to insure me, I managed to get Adrian flux for 1700 and that was a stretch.

If I cant get insured by anyone else for a similar amount I am going to have to sell my car.
This is utter bull ****. I am so furious. Has anyone else experienced anything like this?

#2 Scallywag630

Scallywag630

Up Into Fourth

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,850 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 12:00 AM

If you mean company director, you are not self employed. A limited liability company is a seperate legal entity that employs you even if you own the company. It is usually the self employed bit Insurance companies don't like.

#3 Giant Mini

Giant Mini

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 12:04 AM

im self employed.. no problem.

#4 oltonlad

oltonlad

Up Into Fourth

• Banned from Buying/Selling
  • 2,401 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 12:26 AM

4K??...............at 22 years of age...................what are you insuring?? a bloody supercar?

#5 buck

buck

Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 12:27 AM

I wish I was a director of a company! Unfortunately I just direct videos and short films and I am a camera operator and editor as well.
But apparently going from my old desk job last year, which was a recruitment consultant ( stop gap for a year to earn some money for equipment and the mini) meant they now wont insure me!

#6 buck

buck

Mini Mad

• Members