20 replies to this topic

#1 Mindy-Mayfair

Mindy-Mayfair

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 May 2006 - 09:30 PM

Hi, I need my mayfair completely re-spraying and was quoted £1200 at a local body shop. Is this expensive or about the right price? I haven't got a clue as I'm new to all this and I wasn't sure if they saw me coming a mile off! :proud:

Thanks

Kirsty

#2 biggav

biggav

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,830 posts
  • Local Club: South Central

Posted 04 May 2006 - 09:34 PM

are they doing all the prep work? rubbing down, taking bits of and masking etc? is it just a solid colour or something fancy????

#3 Mindy-Mayfair

Mindy-Mayfair

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 May 2006 - 09:36 PM

It doesn't include the rub down as my dad was going to take care of this!

Its also just a metallic grey colour

#4 Woody

Woody

Ring Runner 2005

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,763 posts

Posted 04 May 2006 - 09:40 PM

if all the prep work is being done by yourselves it is VERRY expensive .
I would charge you about £400 including paint and materials (but not VAT)

#5 Mindy-Mayfair

Mindy-Mayfair

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 May 2006 - 09:48 PM

Ok, thanks for that. I guess I know now I was being ripped off! :proud:

#6 smudger

smudger

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members
  • 1,854 posts
  • Local Club: Lots

Posted 04 May 2006 - 11:57 PM

if they are not doing any prep work, welding etc, if doors and bonnet, bootlid are left on car, then yes, thats a very expensive paint job.

however, if they did take doors, bonnet, bootlid and windows out, maybe change of colour as well (which i gather it is) from a solid to a metallic, and even then not matter how good you dad is, a bodyshop will still do it anyway, then it does start to cost that.