#1 Leonard

Leonard

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 784 posts
  • Local Club: mini rebels

Posted 08 May 2006 - 07:03 PM

if i were to fit 1.5 degree negative camber bottom arms, how much longer would i need to make my tie bars if at all, and are cut and re-welded tie bars ok?

#2 pikey7

pikey7

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,824 posts

Posted 08 May 2006 - 07:08 PM

I certainly wouldn't trust my life on a cut and shut job when standard (and uprated for that matter) arms are cast (or forged...? never looked) in one piece.

Don't be such a skinflint! :thumbsup:

#3 Leonard

Leonard

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 784 posts

Posted 08 May 2006 - 07:10 PM

cheers pikey 7. :thumbsup: . its the tie bars im on about, theyre made from mild steel bar anyway. I wouldnt cut and shut the bottom arms theyre bought from minispeed. Im a welder so if its possible i would do it. i would also reinforce with strips welded over the join

#4 pikey7

pikey7

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • 3,824 posts

Posted 08 May 2006 - 07:13 PM

Ah, tiebars is different! They also don't control the camber! (well, to a certain degree, but very very little)

Tiebars should be fine to be "rewelded" if done absolutely correctly and evenly (There's been a few threads recently about people bending them and sending the tracking all to :thumbsup: ) They are just mild steel bar as you say!

#5 oggy1380

oggy1380

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 08 May 2006 - 07:13 PM

nooooooooooooo,dont cut and reweld ur tie bars,its so not safe.get sum uprated ajustable 1s if u wana change ur front suppension angles

#6 Leonard

Leonard

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 784 posts

Posted 08 May 2006 - 07:23 PM