Photo
- - - - -

About To Replace Very Worn Rubber Cones, What Else Needs To Be Replaced?

suspension

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 The_Doctor

The_Doctor

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 27 January 2014 - 03:29 AM

Hi,

I've been driving around on very worn rubber cones for quite a long time now not realising that there was a problem because that was how I bought the car and just believed it to ride like that. I've seen in some threads scrambled lists of what should be replaced at the same time but I got a headache trying to make sense of it all. What I would like to know is what parts need to be replaced and where I can buy them (I need to somehow get it shipped to NZ too). I'm a novice when it comes to all of this so I need as much help as I can get. I've taken the car off the road for now while I save up for the required parts. If it's not too much to ask I would really appreciate it if I could get a link to a webpage where these parts are sold. Sorry if I'm asking for too much or if this has already been covered, I have an extremely difficult time trying to navigate the website for past threads about this topic and an even harder time trying to locate the parts online.

Thanks in advance for any help!

#2 Craig89

Craig89

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts

Posted 27 January 2014 - 05:49 AM

If doing the job yourself you will need a cone compressor tool to remove the front cones. A good scissor type ball joint splitter is also recommended as the top arm will have to be removed when changing the front cones.

I personally buy most things from minispares.com, I'm sure they deliver to NZ, but that would have to be checked.

When I overhalled my suspension I pretty much did everything, off the top of my head this included:

Front:

Cones
Hi-lo trumpets
Knuckle joints
Top arm new Bush and pin kit
Lower arm bushes
Tie rod bushes