Photo
- - - - -

Camshaft Removal

engine

Best Answer phil hill , 26 February 2014 - 11:55 AM

Yes you have to remove the distributor drive to remove a camshaft.

Phil.

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 IainNeon91

IainNeon91

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,287 posts
  • Local Club: Norfolk Mini Owners Club

Posted 26 February 2014 - 11:50 AM

Am I being a complete noob or do you have to take out the distributor driveshaft in order to remove the camshaft from the block??

#2 phil hill

phil hill

Super Mini Mad

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts

Posted 26 February 2014 - 11:55 AM   Best Answer

Yes you have to remove the distributor drive to remove a camshaft.

Phil.

#3 tiger99

tiger99

Crazy About Mini's

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,584 posts

Posted 27 February 2014 - 02:58 AM

Just a quick bit of advice, in case you are doing it with the engine and gearbox assembled, or even in the car. Get a long (3 or 4 inches) 5/16" UNF bolt and screw it into the tapped hole in the centre of the distributor drive. Use the bolt to pull it out. Otherwise, it tends to drop into the gearbox, which usually means a full strip down to retreive it. I suspect that many people here have had the misfortune to do that, once. I managed to retreive mine, way back in about 1969, but I can't remember how I did it. Not something that I would ever risk again!