11 replies to this topic

#1 Syma

Syma

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 26 June 2017 - 09:48 PM

Hoping someone here can help me. I am nearing the end of the restoration and I started adding brake fluid and bleeding the lines. I have a dual master cylinder and the front seams to work fine but I am getting no fluid out of the top port for the rear lines. I even took off the line to see is anything is coming out when I pump the brake. The cylinder is the original but we did use a repair kit. I am almost 100% sure we put it back together correctly but I am just not sure why I would only be getting fluid out of one port. Any help would be great.

thanks

#2 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,977 posts
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 27 June 2017 - 12:01 AM

sounds like it is working just fine if you are pressing hard on the pedal as it thinks there is a leak and is closing of the rear circuit.

slow low pressure pedal movement. or just open the ports and let it drain through.

and bleed in the order as stated in your Haynes manual. Normally start at the furthermost one from the MC.

#3 Syma

Syma

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 27 June 2017 - 12:31 AM

sounds like it is working just fine if you are pressing hard on the pedal as it thinks there is a leak and is closing of the rear circuit.

slow low pressure pedal movement. or just open the ports and let it drain through.

and bleed in the order as stated in your Haynes manual. Normally start at the furthermost one from the MC.

Open what ports? The bleed valve? 

#4 nicklouse

nicklouse

Moved Into The Garage

• TMF+ Member
  • 17,977 posts
  • Local Club: Anonyme Miniholiker

Posted 27 June 2017 - 12:43 AM

yep.

#5 Spider

Spider

Moved Into The Garage

• Admin
  • 13,977 posts
  • Local Club: South Australian Moke Club

Posted 27 June 2017 - 12:57 AM