#1 ryanlogsdon

ryanlogsdon

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts

Posted 14 April 2019 - 10:55 PM

Hi Everyone,

I bought a '62 Morris Mini a year and a half ago in England and shipped her home, myself.  I'm new to mechanics (I'm a programmer by day), but I've always wanted this car, and I want to learn to fix it myself.  My diagnostic skills are no where near yours.

A few months back, the generator broke.  I replaced the generator and put a trickle charger on the battery.  And she started running again, but the battery wouldn't get recharged.  Turned out the 10 month old battery was defective. I swapped it out and kept the trickle charger on the new battery, but it still won't take a charge.

I gave it 2 weekends, just letting her sit at home.  Now she's not starting at all.  I tried push-starting her yesterday, and that resulted in me and my neighbor pushing her home.  First time ever that a push-start didn't work (I used to have battery problems, so I'm no stranger to the push-start).

The far-right terminal on the voltage regulator, (reading left to right: A1, A, D, F, E) ... "E" was very low, showing about 0.6 volts.  So I've got a new voltage regulator, too.  Now I'm seeing 13.2v, 13.2v, 0v, 0v, and 6.6v.  I'm not sure that D & F should be at zero though??

I thought that while she was down, I'd switch the electrical system from positive-ground to negative-ground.  I did that last night, and I polarized the generator, tapping a wire from positive battery lead to the smaller lead of the generator a few times (it sparked as expected).  And because I'm sitting here, twiddling my thumbs, not knowing how to get her running, I also swapped the spark plugs out.  She REALLY tries to turn over, but it's not going.

Here's a video of her trying to start.  We're trying my friend's trick of spraying a little WD-40 directly in the carburetor.  That didn't work...

https://youtu.be/690sUgciuUI

Any advice is really appreciated!

Thanks,

Ryan

#2 Spider