#1 RCrossley

RCrossley

Starting My Mini Up

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 June 2018 - 07:53 PM

Hi all, 

i recently got my first mini :lol: !!!! a rusty, sketchy and very smelly 1991 studio 2, i have no experience working on cars or engines but equipped with my trusty Hains manual i am ready to learn :proud:. Who needs A-levels anyway eh?

Attached File  IMG_0462.JPG   38.2K   5 downloads

After 2 weeks of driving i decided it was time to stop having fun and give the car a new lease of life. (wasn't so much as decided to stop having fun, as couldn't afford the insurance after wrapping my brothers car round a telephone pole at 5am, a week after buying the mini) :mmkay: .

Attached File  IMG_1575.JPG   103.68K   6 downloads

After a few days of planning and google imaging various areas of the car i began to get a better idea of the styling i wanted to go for (like all noobs i was researching the pretty bits before the useful bits >_< ) i decided to get all new seats, headliner, door cards and possibly dash and carpet (if any money is left at the end)  mainly to get rid of the smell but also because its prettyyyy :shy: .

once i inspected the suspension drive train and brakes i realised that i was one or two rusty bolts away from being thrown off the road so i needed a all new undercarriage all for safety reasons only!! (is what i told mum) 

i had i quick cry about all the rust.

Attached File  IMG_0747.JPG   54.2K   4 downloads

Attached File  IMG_0745.JPG   70.5K   1 downloads

and figured the engine would be fine and needed no work doing at all, it would just need dismantling cleaning and reassembling. (ominous foreshadowing) O_O

Attached File  IMG_0494.JPG   47.32K   1 downloads

and now onto the build (by the way i have no idea what imdoing so any help/pointers are much appreciated) :D

STAGE 1

take up half of the room in your dads garage, jack the car up and take the wheels off :proud:  

Attached File  IMG_0479.JPG   43.72K   3 downloads