#1 olly33

olly33

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • Local Club: 42nd Street (back in day)

Posted 04 October 2014 - 08:50 PM

Hi all,I need to wire in 3 dials,to my mini 91. I have a clock,oil pressure(capillary) and volt dials.I need info or any links, on the lighting side,to work off my light switch I guess?
Also the actual wiring diagrams to get the dials working.Thanks all in advance,I hate wiring,only cus I am not very good at understanding it.

#2 Craig89

Craig89

Super Mini Mad

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts

Posted 05 October 2014 - 05:26 AM

For the gauge lights I would splice into the same +12v and 0v that feed the lights for your current gauges (speedo/tacho/fuel) whichever is easiest this way they will already suitably fused and will work correctly.

For the clock to work you need a permanent +12v i.e. one not switched by the ignition switch. Without looking im not sure where to find this other than, direct from the battery (not ideal as it's in the boot), from the starter solinoid, or the back of the ignition switch, There is probably a more suitable one but at this time in the morning I haven't got my thinking cap on. If you have a Haynes manual have a look at the wiring diagrams you should be able to find one. If you do need use one of the suggested above then you will need a small inline fuse in the +12 before the clock.

The +12v signal for the volt meter should be taken from the switched side of the ignition, the best place to take this from would be the fuse box (ease of access) you can take it from the fused or unfused side but if taken from the unfused side install a small inline fuse as before. The trouble with taking from the fused side is that the fuse may be too big to protect the wiring of the meter.

That should point you in the right direction, any other questions just shout up

#3 olly33

olly33

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts