#1 zebigfatman

zebigfatman

Mini Mad

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Local Club: Snowdon minis

Posted 12 February 2015 - 06:00 PM

I bought my mini cooper spi (Kelvin due to blowing the thermostat gasket) around 2 years ago. I have loved owning it and done a lot of modifications to it, but due to huge problems getting it through the emissions test and one of the CV joints seizing and trying to kill me (I have never heard of this happening either) the time has come to rebuild and restore it. So I sorned it and bought another car.

The aim is a pretty fuel efficient road going rocket, so stripped out and lightweight is the main objective.

I have held out starting this thread for the following reasons, I am an apprentice panel beater so not much income for bits and I have not had the time to do anything to the car. But after Christmas it started to pick up.

First I bought a fibreglass front so the the front is now gone.      

Before

Attached File  IMGP0068.resized.JPG   64.51K   15 downloads

After

Attached File  IMGP0073.resized.JPG   73K   29 downloads

The next thing to happen was a bit of a surprise, I came home and looked up KAD on ebay and these beauties came up. So I had to have them

Attached File  IMGP0090.resized.JPG   39.59K   26 downloads

Attached File  IMGP0094.resized.JPG   50.14K   7 downloads

Before I could immobilise the car It needed to be moved to another shed so I fitted some coil-overs that I had seen on ebay a few months previously.Attached File  IMGP0083.resized.JPG   66.46K   17 downloads

Then started clearing the shed. 2 weeks ago it was time to move the car, and last week the engine came out!

Attached File  IMGP0104.resized.JPG   106.65K   22 downloads

Attached File  IMGP0106.resized.JPG   94.85K   17 downloads