#1 Yona

Yona

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 25 November 2021 - 03:23 AM

Hello everyone,

I recently acquired a 1968 1275cc mini and when i got the car it would start and run fine. A couple months later I moved across the country and had the car shipped over. When the car showed up it would no longer start (The starter would click but never turn over). I replaced the spark plugs and played with the timing a bit and was able to get the engine to turn over. Now it will start and idle for about five seconds and than stalls out. I am new to the mini scene and classic cars in general so I am not sure where to start when it comes to troubleshooting the issue. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks!

#2 timmy850

timmy850

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,991 posts
  • Local Club: MITG

Posted 25 November 2021 - 09:12 AM

Perhaps the fuel pump has died? If you have an SU carb, open up the fuel bowl and check it's full of fuel

#3 Yona

Yona

Just On Tickover

• Noobies
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 November 2021 - 05:27 PM

The engine has duel SU carbs. I opened them up and it looks like the bowl is about 60% full of fuel. Is that too low? I can also feel the pump running when the engine is cranking so i know its doing something.

Attached Files

Edited by Yona, 26 November 2021 - 05:37 PM.

#4 panky

panky

Camshaft & Stage Two Head

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,776 posts
  • Local Club: Northwest Casual Classics

Posted 26 November 2021 - 07:02 PM

Make sure the carb pistons are free to move easily. Try lifting each one in turn with your finger and watch them return, they should be nice and smooth as they drop back down. Also make sure there is oil in the dash pots, engine oil is usually fine.

#5 timmy850

timmy850

Up Into Fourth

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,991 posts
  • Local Club: MITG

Posted 26 November 2021 - 07:05 PM