#1 thegreenhornet

thegreenhornet

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 09 June 2013 - 09:51 PM

I'm a newbie here so hi to everyone :)

My 1979 Mini 1000 came back after having a new clutch and coil today, but I've found that none of the headlights, side lights, tail lights and dash lights are working. The headlights do flash from the column stalk though.

I suspected a dodgy switch so I checked it with a multimeter. The switch has power, but bypassing it with paperclips doesn't work.

Given that it's all of the lights that don't work apart from the flash switch, I'm stumped as to what it could be. Everything else electrical works fine and the fuses are fine.

Help?! :(

#2 KernowCooper

KernowCooper

Sparkie

• Mini Docs
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,847 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Local Club: Kernow Mini Club

Posted 09 June 2013 - 10:54 PM

as everything is gone I would suspect the light switch? but you saw you have bypassed it with a paper clip? well I would test it with a multimeter feeed in and feed out on the terminals, If the fuses are ok then its a case of following the wiring back.

I still suspect the switch

#3 Ipod

Ipod

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,024 posts

Posted 09 June 2013 - 10:57 PM

Could it be an bad earth or earth not re connected after the work

#4 thegreenhornet

thegreenhornet

Stage One Kit Fitted

• Noobies
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 10 June 2013 - 12:24 PM

Thanks guys. I tested it with a multimeter and there's definitely power to the switch. If it's an earth problem, where would I find the connection?

I tried the switch on the way to work this morning. The lights flickered and there was a fizzing noise behind the dials. Are there any connections back there that would affect all the lights at once?

#5 Bazooka Joe

Bazooka Joe

Mini Mad

• Noobies
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 10 June 2013 - 01:15 PM